Our story

Agripur is a Belgian player in the market for biosolutions and organic fertilisers.

Founded in 2015, whose objective is to anticipate the gradual withdrawal of chemical inputs by developing credible alternatives. They include nettle or horsetail, natural ingredients with many benefits that have been well known since antiquity.

The story begins with the research work of Professor Christian Marche, director of the Centre des Technologies Agronomiques (CTA) in Strée. He set up a long and fastidious selection programme based on more than 3,000 samples of wild nettles collected in Belgium. The programme resulted in the development of a cultivable, nutrient-rich variety of nettle.

In 2017, at the instigation of ITAB (France’s Institute for Organic Food and Agriculture), Europe recognised the nettle (Urtica dioica) for its fungicidal, insecticidal and acaricidal properties and paved the way for it to be marketed by recognising it as a “basic substance”.

This was all it took to convince Georges Beguin to start planting nettles in plots and so the adventure began. Working in the region of Sombreffe, the company’s founder and manager, Georges turned a barn into a production unit in order to develop a Walloon production chain for nettle manure. This production chain now includes farmers-producers of nettles and a unit that turns them into manure, as well as partners with a marketing network.

January2017

The company was founded

May2017

The first fields of nettles were planted

June2019

The production unit was set up

December2019

Purtica was marketed for the first time

October2022

Purella was marketed for the first time

June2023

SYMPHYPUR goes on sale

Our facilities

Agripur has developed its own manufacturing processes. A preliminary study conducted in collaboration with manufacturers meant that we could build a professional production unit to meet the growing demand.

Meticulously selected nettle plants have been planted in fields and are now cultivated, giving us control of the whole production chain.

Our Vision

Listening to your needs and providing you with solutions

Our Mission

Controlling all our production processes, providing quality products and innovating

A unique adventure

The future

Because innovation never stops, we are thinking today about the products we will be able to offer you tomorrow. A range of unique products from plants such as garlic and horsetail decoctions will soon be available on the market.

Notre histoire

AgriPur est un acteur belge actif sur le marché des biosolutions et des fertilisants organiques.

Fondée en 2015, la société est dirigée par un groupe d’agriculteurs innovants qui a pour objectif d’anticiper le retrait progressif des intrants chimiques en développant des alternatives crédibles. Parmi elles, l’ortie, un produit naturel possédant de nombreuses vertus bien connues depuis l’Antiquité.

L’histoire commence avec les travaux de recherche du Professeur Christian Marche, directeur du Centre des Technologies Agronomiques (CTA) de Strée. Ce dernier a mis en place un long et fastidieux programme de sélection sur la base de plus de 5000 échantillons d’orties sauvages récoltées en Belgique. Ce programme a abouti au développement d’une variété d’ortie cultivable et riche en éléments nutritifs.

En 2017, sous l’impulsion de l’ITAB (Institut de l’agriculture et l’alimentation biologiques), l’Europe a reconnu l’ortie (Urtica dioica) pour ses propriétés fongicides, insecticides et acaricides et a facilité sa mise sur le marché via la reconnaissance comme “substance de base”.

Il n’en fallait pas moins pour convaincre Georges Beguin d’implanter des parcelles d’orties et de se lancer dans l’aventure. Actif dans la région de Sombreffe, Georges, fondateur et gérant de la société, a d’ailleurs reconverti une grange en véritable unité de production afin d’aboutir au développement d’une filière wallonne de production de purin d’orties. Cette filière englobe maintenant des agriculteurs-producteurs d’orties, une unité de transformation en purin ainsi que des partenaires disposant d’un réseau de commercialisation.

Mai2017

Création de l'entreprise

Janvier2017

Implantation des premiers champs d’orties

Juin2019

Installation de l’unité de production

Décembre2019

Début de la commercialisation

Nos installations

Agripur a mis au point son propre procédé de fabrication. Une étude préliminaire conduite en collaboration avec des industriels a permis la construction d’une unité de production professionnelle permettant de répondre à la demande grandissante.

Des orties issues d’un long programme de sélection ont été repiquées dans des parcelles et sont aujourd’hui cultivées, nous permettant dès lors de maitriser toute la filière de production.

Notre Vision

Être à l’écoute de vos besoins et vous apporter les solutions

Notre Mission

Maitriser l’ensemble de notre filière de production, fournir des produits de qualité et innover

Une aventure unique

L'avenir

Parce que l’innovation ne s’arrête jamais, nous réfléchissons dès aujourd’hui aux produits que nous vous proposerons demain. Une gamme de produits uniques issus des plantes telles que les décoctions d’ail et de prêle arriveront prochainement sur le marché.